The Awesome Tech Blog

chic, straightforward and shrewd words on tech ever desired

Let Facebook tell who logged into your account

with one comment

Facebook has this hidden feature available and I bet not many of you reading this are aware about it. The feature, if enabled, just after logging in and before accessing your account, Facebook asks the user to enter a particular name for the location user is logging in from. And that name entered along with IP address and location, time of logging in, the browser used to browse the site and even the OS – everything is mailed to your primary email address just the next moment.

The whole point is – you should know when someone else logs into your account and if this feature is enabled, you’ll know it. Easy!

It might be a bit of pain because enabling the feature means an additional step between logging in and accessing the account, but the feature is too powerful to be ignored. Apart, clicking the button, “Don’t ask for this device again” won’t ask you again of course until the browser’s cache is not deleted.

To enable this feature, go Accounts tab | Account Security option under Settings tab | Click Change | And enable the Radio button On under Get notified by SMS or email if a new computer or mobile device logs into your account.

For an easier tutorial, follow the attached slideshow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Advertisements

Written by rahulbhagchandani

December 23, 2010 at 4:30 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] HTTPS is an extension of a the normal Hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP). (The ‘S’ in HTTPS stands for “Secure”.) With HTTPS, whatever information you share on the web goes through a secure medium in an encrypted form. So does data via HTTP go in plain text form, you may ask. Yes, full plain text. From your chats, to statuses to messages, everything is sent in plain text. Which means anyone having access to those servers can read your stuff. Every damn stuff. But now that Facebook let’s you completely browse via HTTPS and it’s time that you enabled it. Go to Account | Account Settings – scroll down to ‘Change Security’ and check ‘Secure browsing (https)’ .  As mentioned earlier here on Awesome Tech, enabling login notifications is also a good practice. […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: