The Awesome Tech Blog

chic, straightforward and shrewd words on tech ever desired

Turn off your LCD in a couple of keystrokes

with 2 comments

Few days back I was studying math and listening to music on my laptop. Now the screen was distracting so I needed a solution. Although my power settings ensure that the screen goes off after one idle minute, it wasn’t easy to wait for one minute.

And so I found TurnoffLCD on Redmond Pie, thanks to Google. This small lil utility can sit anywhere in your computer and clicking it turns off the screen.

Now to increase the usability of the tool I used autohotkey a script based utility that lets you create shortcuts for anything on your machine. I set ctrl+win+alt as the shortcut and booyah, it worked like a charm.

-For newbies, after you instal autohokey, right click anywhere in your Windows explorer, select New and then Autohotkey Script. Paste the following in order to keep ctrl+win+alt as your shortcut.

^#aLT::Run (file location)\Turn Off LCD.exe

You might have read about this on Lifehacker recently. Did I copy it? No. Actually I tipped them via email. For some reason, they didn’t give the credit. Or maybe they don’t give the credit for email tips. Whatever, screw the credits but if you still think I compiled this piece from theirs, here’s a snapshot of my email to LH 🙂

Written by rahulbhagchandani

March 21, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Posted in Windows

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmm…very interesting. So does it work like a screensaver? I.e. when you wiggle your mouse does the screen reactivate or turn back on?

    Betty

    March 22, 2011 at 7:25 am

    • Yes absolutely. Any simple mouse/keyboard gesture would reactivate your screen.

      Rahul

      March 22, 2011 at 10:51 am


Leave a Reply

